Well, Here We Go

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Kyle, Local, WBOW

 

If you missed the announcement I made on air just after 8:30 this morning, well here it is in blog form.

 

As some may already know, 102.7 WBOW has been sold pending approval from the Federal Communications Commission.  A local management agreement has been signed, and control of the radio station will be transferred to the new owners this Sunday, July the 1st, at 12:01 AM while both said wait for the FCC to finalize the sale.

What does that mean for you?  Well, it means after Saturday, 102.7 WBOW will change.  Our nationally syndicated shows like Delilah and Fox All Access will be gone.  Also gone will be the Adult Contemporary Hits that we have played for several years.  The new owners have to decided to try a different format that will be a big change from what you hear now.  We won’t disclose that format as it is not our news to tell.

What does it mean for us?  Well it means a lot of us are out of jobs.  Friday will be the final shows for myself, Jules, and Jim Osborn.  Knowing this was a real possibility for a few months, the reality is starting to set in that the end is Friday.  I think I can speak for not only myself, but Jules and Jim as well, when I say the most disappointing thing for us is the fact that we won’t be able to do what we all love anymore — entertain you on the radio.

None of us have gotten rich doing radio, the job does have some certain perks, but usually the pay is terrible and benefits are non-existent.  But just being able to do something we all loved so much on a daily basis made it more than worth it for us and our families.  The fact all of us got to do radio in the towns we grew up and have lived in for so long made it that much more special for us.  Generally in radio, you live in a new area code every two years.  I’ve called the 812 home my entire life, and have done my best to entertain FM radio listeners in the area since 2000.  Same goes for Jules who has been the best at what she does in the market since 1996.

We are proud of the work we have put in to make 102.7 WBOW what it is today.  From top to bottom, running a radio station is a very hard job that never stops.  Not only our on-air staff, but our sales team, Operations Manager Party Marty, Production Manager Vaso Michels, and our General Manager Kensey Kunkel have put in so many hours to make the radio station one of the most listened to in the area.  We can’t go very many places without people telling us how much they enjoy the station, how it makes their workdays go by fast, and how the music keeps a smile on their face.   I’ve been a part of a lot of radio teams through the years, and the group of people I work with now is by far the closest group of people I have ever worked with.   In a tough situation for several months, we all have had each others backs the entire time.

As we begin our final week this week, we hope you will listen as much as you can.  It will be a hard week for us here, but we are going to do our best to keep a positive vibe and do the best radio we can do.  Please call, e-mail, facebook, or tweet us songs you want to hear.

Finally, I/we want to thank you.  Your support to local radio over the years in Terre Haute has always been amazing.   I’m sure I will have another sappy, long post at the end of the week, so check back.

 

Thanks again,

 

Kyle West

102.7 WBOW

 

Comments
  1. Betty Jeffers says:

    im so sorry to hear of this..i have not listen to any other station for as far back as i can remember….i love the different personalities and laughs you all brought to my life daily..i wish the best of luck to all of you in ur new adventures in life!!!!!

  2. Bananarama Andy says:

    That’s really unfortunate. WBOW has been my go-to for good music for some time now. I hope the new owners don’t ruin it.

    Best,
    Bananarama Andy

  3. bm says:

    well that just SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Sophia says:

    HEY WAIT A MIN!!! THAT FREAKING STINKS!! Tell these new owners that they will loose a lot of listeners if they pull this crap! I LOVE 102.7 because of the different format! Guess I will have to try to find a new station!

  5. Chris Shields says:

    I have listened to this radio station for about 7 years now and I don’t change it to anything else. You all will be sadly missed and I look foward to maybe picking you guys up on another station. I like hearing from you guys.

  6. LuciLuWho says:

    I will miss the 102.7 I’ve grown to love; but will admit I won’t miss Delilah – it’s the only time I turn your station to another…but always switching it back first thing in the morning. The adult contemporary music you play is what the largest generation listens to – the Baby Boomers! I will miss you all! I pray you all find new careers soon and even further pray you all get to remain in the Wabash Valley.

  7. We moved to Terre Haute area 11 years ago now, and I found your station the first week….I keep all the radios in my home and car set on 102.7 and I manage a store with stereo and keep it on 102.7 too. My customers love it and make comments all the time to never change it. the music has a great variety and is not all one type. I am not, nor never have been a fan of country music or heavy/hard rock and roll. I like easy rock and oldies….which is what you have played. I really hate to see you all leave and hopefully the new owners will consider keeping the same type of music. I hate to think of having to find another station. Best of luck to all of you!!!!

  8. djkylewest says:

    Everyone, thank you for the comments. Means a lot to all of us. — Kyle

  9. […] Morning Host Kyle West has blogged that the existing 102.7 staff will be departing after Friday. ShareShareEmailPrintDiggStumbleUponPress This Filed Under: Domain […]

  10. Judy Tribble says:

    Farewell to all the wonderful staff at WBOW! The new owners don’t know what they’re missing. Guess I’ll be playing CDs on my way to and from work.

Leave a Reply

